Let’s talk about: MAC Retro Matte Liquid Lipcolor!

Hello. My name is xteena and I have a problem.

Hello, xteena. 

Ah yes. Sometimes I do feel like I have an addiction. Everybody says so. My crime? I am obsessed with lipsticks and I can’t stop.

Yes ladies and gentleman! I am lipobsessed with lipcolors and recently I have been buying a ridiculous amount of lipsticks until my boyfriend said, “You do know you only have one pair of lips, right?”  

Oh, men will never understand. I do feel sorry for them. A bit.

Anyway, I simply love how something as simple as sporting different colors on our lips can really change your look, and your mood. And I thought for this post, I would do my honest review and first impression on the MAC Retro Matte Liquid Lipcolor that I purchased a few weeks ago. Maybe I’ll do more for my other lipsticks but hey, baby steps, kay?

First impression: The packaging

MAC products ain’t cheap, so honesty to me, the packaging of this retro matte liquid lipcolor is not blowing me away. They can certainly do better. As you can see, the tube looks exactly like their usual lipsticks. It almost seems like their product designer just got lazy and said hey, let’s create this totally new product with exactly the same packaging as the ones we already have!

Having said that, it’s not that big of a deal and I know that MAC lipsticks are great and I know the quality will be just as great. The only difference of this from the other MAC lipsticks’ packaging is the bottom half of the tube is transparent, so you can see the color of the product from the outside.

I chose to get the color Tailored to Tease, which is a darker pink – slightly purple tone that looks super gorgeous on the tube! It looks very flattering for my skin tone as well and it really brightens my face.

mac_tailoredtotease001

(Credits)

Wearing it

1453409015

(Credits)

I love the applicator of this liquid lipstick. It looks so sleek, I love the transparent glass-like part of the applicator, which follows by the brush itself that soaks just the right amount of product for easy application.

It feels so creamy and smooth when you glide the brush on to your lip and I totally love the color on me! It is moisturizing without making my lips look chapped or dry. Usually this is the problem with matte finishing, as it tends to dry out the lip and after a few hours, your lips feel like the Sahara dessert.

Gladly, I can say that I don’t feel that way at all with this MAC liquid lipstick. I can wear this all day and not having to do much touch-up even after I eat and drink throughout the day.

And have I mentioned, that I totally love the color on me?

Putting it through the test

Wearing it for a full day with meals in between is no problem for me. The color lasts all day, although it still does transfer to your spoon, straw, or glass. It doesn’t really bother me that much though, I feel that it’s a small compromise when you can wear it all day without having to do any touch-up. Yipee!

It did make my lips feel a bit dry after 6-7 hours but what I usually do is apply lip balm over the lip color, and it helps!

Conclusion

I think that this liquid lipstick is pretty awesome. It’s not the best formula of liquid lipstick that I have ever tried, but it’s definitely one of the better ones! I enjoy wearing this so much that I actually purchased 2 more colors from this collection: To Matte with Love (third from left) and Personal Statement (far right).

MAC-Retro-Matte-Liquid-Lipsticks-Review-01

(Credits)

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a nice detailed review! Love the quality of your photographs! 🙂

    Like

    1. Christina says:

      Hi there! Thank you so much for reading and leaving comment! 🙂 Wish I could take credits, but those are not my photographs (hence, I added the credits) 🙂 Will definitely start to take my own photos for this blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

